4 weeks left to nominate for the NHS leadership recognition awards – who are you proud of?

thumb image

We’re in a celebratory mood here at the NHS Leadership Academy as two of our leaders; Karen Lynas and Yvonne Coghill, have been named in the HSJ’s list of the 50 most inspirational women in healthcare and we couldn’t be more proud to work alongside them.

But who are you proud to work with?

The NHS Leadership Recognition Awards are currently open for nominations – great leaders are everywhere in the health service and we want to find them!

With regional nominations closing on Friday 16 August, the awards celebrate leaders at all levels and across all professions who have ultimately improved people’s health, the public’s experience of the NHS and those leaders we are truly proud to work alongside.

Jan Sobieraj, managing director at the NHS Leadership Academy, said: “We know that on a daily basis there are members of staff who go above and beyond their role to make a difference – people who go that extra mile to support and motivate their peers.

“Working for the NHS can be a challenging– which is exactly why we should take the time to celebrate individuals for their continued hard work, perseverance and for the positive and motivational impact they potentially have on others.

“We know that outstanding leaders have a direct positive impact on patient care and we think it is time to celebrate people who not only provide exceptional care to patients, whether directly or indirectly but who act as role models and inspirational leaders for the next generation of NHS professionals.”

Delivered by the ten regional partners of the national Academy, there are nine categories to choose from, with the 90 regional winners automatically being put forward for a national award of the same name in February of next year.

Regardless of position, level or professional qualification, anyone who works in NHS funded care can be nominated for one (or more!) or the below awards:

The awards are open to every trust and NHS organisation in the country with winners of the awards being celebrated at regional events run in the autumn. This is a chance to share best practice and be recognised for the contribution they have made.

Please see the NHS Leadership Recognition Awards website for more information where you will then be prompted to select your region.

No Comments

HSJ Inspirational Women list celebrates outstanding leaders

thumb image

Last night (Wednesday 17th July), the Health Service Journal (HSJ), announced its inaugural Inspirational Women list, which we, the NHS Leadership Academy, proudly supported.  Around 80 inspirational women and guests attended a private reception to network and celebrate success.

HSJ Inspirational WomenThe HSJ Inspirational Women list celebrates outstanding leaders or generous mentors who are driving change and innovation in service redesign or at the heart of influencing health policy.  The list contains women from clinical or non-clinical backgrounds who stand out for their passion and ability to innovate and drive change.

Over the spring and summer, a long list of individuals was prepared by the HSJ team and via nominations by HSJ readers through the website.  Nominees were asked to meet one of more of the following criteria:

  • Delivering outstanding leadership
  • Sharing knowledge and expertise with others in the sector
  • Acting as a role model/mentor to colleagues
  • Driving innovation in service redesign and/or research
  • At the heart of shaping or influencing policy

A panel of judges, who represented a broad spectrum of opinion, were asked review the long list and add suggestions of their own.

Fifty individuals from all areas of healthcare have made the inaugural list.

The reception was hosted by Alastair McLellan, Editor of HSJ and he said: “It was not enough to be influential.  The judges were clear that they were looking for people who live the values they espouse – the authentic leaders.”

The judges on the panel were as follows:

  • Dr Sam Barrell, chief clinical officer, South Devon and Torbay Clinical Commissioning Group
  • Paul Birley, head of public sector healthcare, Barclays
  • Professor Naomi Chambers, head of health policy and management, Manchester Business School
  • Rosemary Cook, honorary professor, Bucks New University; chief executive officer, Institute of Physics and Engineering in Medicine
  • Dame Jacqueline Docherty, chief executive, West Middlesex University Hospital Trust
  • Nicola Hartley, director, Leadership Development, The King’s Fund
  • Dr Nikita Kanani, GP registrar and co-chair, The Network
  • Dr Sara Khan, editor of Medical Women, Medical Women’s Federation
  • Karen Lynas, deputy managing director, NHS Leadership Academy
  • Becky Malby, director, Centre for  Innovation in Health Management
  • Jenni  Middleton, editor, Nursing Times
  • Dr Mark Newbold, chief executive, Heart of England Foundation Trust
  • Professor Wendy Reid, medical director, Health Education England
  • Andrea Sutcliffe, chief executive, Social Care Institute for Excellence
  • Dawn Tame-Battell, assistant director of patient services, Marie Curie

Congratulations to everyone who made the list.

For more information please click here

No Comments